My calling.

Gallery

In 2012, I started painting. I’ve always had a love for drawing and art but, until this past year, I had never attempted painting. I was too afraid. One day, my husband brought home a giant piece of wood, salvaged from the dumpster at work. A 2′ x 4′ empty piece of (very heavy) wooden board. I put it in the garage and walked past it, every day, for some time. I was too intimidated to go near it.

Until one day. I just decided to go for it. I dragged that heavy wood out into the driveway, gessoed her up and attacked her with paint! Swirls, dots, drips, strokes, scratches and, finished her off with a face. A face I’ve come to love. This painting is now hanging in my own house and is my favorite piece of art I’ve done. I wouldn’t sell if for anything. This was the day I realized my true passion. I haven’t been able to let go since and feel know it has changed my life in so many ways.

“The crowning fortune of a man is to be born to some pursuit which finds him employment and happiness, whether it be to make baskets, or broadswords, or canals, or statues, or songs.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

